Our Club History

The Club was formed in 1895 and entered a team in the recently formed Box Hill Reporter District Cricket Association. There were 5 other Clubs competing that first year, being Boroondara, Box Hill, Camberwell United, Ringwood and Ringwood Juniors. Tough economic times and a sparse population meant that Vermont teams were entered in the BHRDCA spasmodically in those early years.

However from the 1928 season onwards, Vermont fielded a Senior Team consistently in the BHRDCA. In 1953, the Club also commenced to field a Junior Team, with the number of junior teams expanding over the years as the population in the area stabilized and then increased.

For the 1980/81 season the Club elected to leave the BHRDCA and join the Ringwood District Cricket Association. That arrangement stayed in place until 1994, when the Club decided to return to the BHRDCA.

The Club’s First XI had limited success through most of the 1900’s, winning the A grade premierships in 1942-43, 1970-71 and 1979-80. At the end of the century the Club entered a golden era, winning four consecutive McIntosh Shield premierships from 1998/9 to 2001/02. This remains a BHRDCA record for the number of consecutive premierships in the senior McIntosh Shield competition. The Club again won the McIntosh Shield premiership in the 2006/07 season.

In 2009/10 the Senior Team was relegated to A grade, however they immediately regained promotion back to the McIntosh Shield competition after winning the A grade premiership in that season. Following this promotion back to the McIntosh Shield competion, the Clubs First X1 finished runners up in the Grand Final forseason 2011/12

NOTE: We are currently looking in to old records to try and expand the history of the Vermont Cricket Club. If you can assist in this regard, please contact the Club